Open link in a new tab

Content

Expand project menu

[Backlog] How does the different Backlog version sharing effect

When you create a new Backlog in the project settings you can select a Sharing option:

  • Not shared
  • With subprojects (we assume all project below this project)
  • With project hierarchy (also with projects above this project?)
  • With project tree (what is here the difference to With project hierarchy?)
  • With all projects (global, so visible everywhere)

Would be nice if someone could give us a a more detailed explanation, in the documentation it seems to be missing.

We played a bit with the backlogs and created one in the root of a project hierarchy (Demo project) with the sharing option With project hierarchy.

  • Demo project
    • TestSub

Now we go to a sub project (TestSub) and add an item to one of the backlog. We would now assume to see this items from the sub projects in the backlog of the root project, but it is not visible. In the sub project we would only see the items part of this project. 

When you go to the Roadmap they will be displayed. Is this correct behavior or is this a bug?

Message actions

Hello Mr. Braun,

sorry for the delayed response.
Regarding your questions:

The sharing options have the following meaning:

  • Not shared - Version only visible / accessible in the current project
  • With subprojects - Version visible / accessible in all subprojects (direct subprojects and deeper subproject hierarchies)
  • With project hierarchy - Version visible / accessible is all projects "above and below" the current project
  • With project tree - Like "With project hierarchy" but also visible / accessible in sibling projects
  • With all projects - Version visible / accessible globally

It is indeed correct that the sharing options only impact the version itself (as well as the roadmap) - but not the Backlogs page.

The Backlogs page only displays work packages in the current project.

As an outlook: In the medium term the Backlogs page is going to be replaced by a board view which will allow a more flexible configuration.

Best regards,
Robin

Message actions

Dear Robin,

it seems that this info is still missing from the documentation: can you please add it?

Thanks in advance, best regards