Open link in a new tab

Content

Expand project menu

Confusion with release 7 on one use case

I do have the following use case where behavior just changed with the latest update to release 7 - and I wonder if this is a feature or a bug:

Use case:

I’m about to conclude one sprint and there is a user story that did not get completed - thus I move the user story to the next sprint;

What happened with the earlier release:

- user story moves to the next sprint (version)

- all the children tasks (no matter what the status is) move to the next sprint
- the closed tasks I can selectively map back to the current sprint where they actually got closed

What happens now:

- user story moves to the next sprint (version)

- all the children tasks (no matter what the status is) move to the next sprint
- the tool does not allow me to move the closed tasks back to the current sprint

Question: is this a bug or a feature (I know that we should be able to get user stories done inside one sprint but life is not perfect in R&D)?

Message actions

Hello Jari,

there is a restriction in OpenProject that enforces that child work packages (in this tasks) need to have the same (backlog) version as their parent (i.e. user stories).
This behavior existed before OpenProject 7 as well but was not always properly enforced.

You would need to create a separate user story for the old or new sprint and assign the tasks to the respective user story.
This can be a bit confusing but is indeed the desired behavior (even before OP 7).

Best,
Robin