# Feature PIR-43 - When changing roles associated with a custom field, modify existing memberships

Project: Project Inititation Requests
Status: closed
URL: https://community.openproject.org/work_packages/PIR-43

## Planning

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Date |  |
| Priority | Medium |
| Target versions | 17.0.0 |
| List |  |
| Roadmap |  |
| Relevance |  |

## OPEN POINTS / FEEDBACK

_No work packages_

## Features and Chunks

_No work packages_

## Bugs and other work packages

| ID | Type | Subject | Status | Assignee | Target versions | Spent time | Module |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| PIR-75 | Bug | User appears in PIR user project attribute even though they don't have sufficient permissions | rejected |  | 17.0.0 |  | Modules and project features / Project creation, Administration / User administration, Administration / Roles and permissions / Project roles and permissions |

## Technical Details

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Module |  |
| Feature Flag |  |
| Requires doc change | No |
| Enterprise plan |  |

## Details

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Pull preview |  |
| Mockups |  |

## People

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Assignee |  |
| Accountable |  |
| Product manager |  |
| Developers | Klaus Zanders |
| Designer |  |
| Signed off by |  |
| Interest by |  |

## Estimates and progress

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Work |  |
| Labor costs |  |

## Description

See <mention class="mention" data-id="69158" data-type="work_package" data-text="##69158">\#\#69158</mention>

## Acceptance criteria

  - Available to administrators that are allowed to modify project attributes

  - When the custom field is linked with a project role and the field was not used on any projects before, nothing happens

  - When the custom field has been used in projects and there are users filled in the field, when linking the custom field with a role, the memberships of existing users are edited and the role is added to their membership.

  - When the linked role is changed, the old role is removed from the memberships of the affected users and the new role is added

  - When the linked role is removed, the old role is removed from the memberships. Users that only had that one role as membership, get their membership removed
