# Bug OP-5234 - Deleting a Group with Users leaves the Users as Member of the Project

Project: OpenProject
Status: rejected
URL: https://community.openproject.org/work_packages/OP-5234

## Open points

_No work packages_

## Details

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Date |  |
| Priority | Low |
| Module |  |
| Target versions |  |
| Observed in versions | 8.0.0 |
| Sprint |  |
| Backlog bucket |  |
| Bug found in version (deprecated) | 8.0.x |
| Found in mobile app version |  |
| Follow-up feedback e-mail |  |
| Requires doc change | No |
| Accessibility | No |
| Pull preview |  |
| List |  |
| Labels |  |

## People

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Assignee |  |
| Accountable |  |
| Product manager |  |
| Developers |  |
| Designer |  |
| Ordered by |  |
| Signed off by |  |
| Interest by |  |

## Planning

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Relevance |  |

## Costs

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Votes |  |
| Work |  |
| Labor costs |  |

## Description

**DESCRIPTION**  
When a Group is deleted, all Users in the Group remain Member of the Project(s) the Group was part of. The only difference is that the Users do not have any Role in the Project(s).  
Bug found in OpenProject 7.3.0, but present in 8.1.0

  
**Preconditions**  
1\. At least one Project  
1.a. Without Members to see the problem clearly  
2\. At least one User  
3\. At least one Group with at least one User

**Steps to replicate the problem**  
1\. Add the Group to the Project with any Role  
2\. Delete the Group  
2.a. Do not remove the Group from the Project Members, just directly delete the Group

**Expected behaviour**  
All Users in the Group shall be removed from the list of Members of the Project that the Group was Member of

**Actual behaviour**  
All Users in the Group remain Members of the Project that the Group was Member of; however, the Users do not have any Role in the Project
