# Feature AUTOWORK-228 - Workflows UX improvement: Make saving changes more straightforward and less error-prone

Project: Stream Workflows & Automations
Status: closed
URL: https://community.openproject.org/work_packages/AUTOWORK-228

## Planning

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Date |  |
| Priority | Medium |
| Target versions | 17.3.0 |
| Sprint |  |
| Backlog bucket |  |
| Votes |  |
| List |  |
| Roadmap |  |
| Relevance |  |

## OPEN POINTS / FEEDBACK

_No work packages_

## Features and Chunks

_No work packages_

## Bugs and other work packages

| ID | Type | Subject | Status | Assignee | Target versions | Spent time | Module |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| AUTOWORK-233 | Bug | No confirmation dialog when doing a browser page reload | closed |  | 17.3.0 |  | Administration / Type/Variants and Workflows |
| AUTOWORK-231 | Bug | Flickering of dialog/content when switching tabs after ignoring confirmation dialog | closed |  | 17.3.0 |  | Administration / Type/Variants and Workflows |
| AUTOWORK-230 | Bug | No confirmation dialog when adding statuses and changing roles/tab without further changes | closed |  | 17.3.0 |  | Administration / Type/Variants and Workflows |

## Technical Details

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Module | Administration / Type/Variants and Workflows |
| Feature Flag |  |
| Requires doc change | Yes |
| Enterprise plan | Community (COM) |

## Details

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Pull preview |  |
| Mockups | https://www.figma.com/design/LsJmLVlm0Nqrq32xMeFq9P/Workflow--new-?node-id=127-2311 |
| Accessibility | No |

## People

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Assignee |  |
| Accountable |  |
| Product manager |  |
| Developers | Mir Bhatia |
| Designer | Parimal Satyal |
| Ordered by |  |
| Signed off by |  |
| Interest by |  |

## Estimates and progress

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Work |  |
| Labor costs |  |

## Description

**Context**

  - Since the current workflow table uses checkboxes, we need a "Save" action on the page.

  - If the workflow table is particularly elaborate, the Save button may not be visible to the user

  - Currently, if the user changes role selection without saving the page, they will lose their changes. This is not ideal.

**Acceptance criteria**

  - The Save button is placed in a fixed position at the bottom of the screen (see [Figma mockups](https://www.figma.com/design/LsJmLVlm0Nqrq32xMeFq9P/Workflow--new-?node-id=127-4338&t=KAroZKlUC3DhTV44-4) for margin/spacings).

  - If the user tries to change the role or tab when there are unsaved changes, show a "Save changes before continuing?" dialog
    
      - Title: "Save changes before continuing?"
    
      - Text: "You are about to leave this page but you have unsaved changes. Would you like to save them before continuing?"
    
      - Actions:
        
          - Ignore changes (danger)
        
          - Save changes and continue (primary)

**Technical notes**

  - If the user clicks 'Save changes and continue', the form must first be saved/submitted before changing role scope

**Permissions and visibility considerations**

  - *None*

**Translation considerations**

  - *-* 

**Out of scope**

  - 
    <br>
