# Feature AGILE-108 - Backlog buckets in "Backlog and sprints" view

Project: Stream agile
Status: closed
URL: https://community.openproject.org/work_packages/AGILE-108

## Planning

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Date |  |
| Priority | High |
| Target versions | 17.4.0 |
| Sprint | Sprint 1 |
| Backlog bucket |  |
| Votes |  |
| List |  |
| Roadmap |  |
| Relevance |  |

## OPEN POINTS / FEEDBACK

_No work packages_

## Features and Chunks

_No work packages_

## Bugs and other work packages

| ID | Type | Subject | Status | Assignee | Target versions | Spent time | Module |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| AGILE-230 | Bug | Backlogs: closed work packages remain in backlog buckets | closed |  | 17.4.0 |  | Modules and project features / Backlogs |
| AGILE-217 | Bug | WorkPackages not moved to bottom of inbox upon Backlog Bucket removal | closed |  | 17.4.0 |  | Modules and project features / Backlogs |
| AGILE-214 | Bug | Move down link shown incorrectly for 1 backlog bucket item | closed |  | 17.4.0 |  |  |
| AGILE-213 | Bug | "Load X more items" link is missing from the backlog | closed |  | 17.4.0 |  |  |

## Technical Details

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Module | Modules and project features / Backlogs |
| Feature Flag |  |
| Requires doc change | Yes |
| Enterprise plan |  |

## Details

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Pull preview |  |
| Mockups | https://www.figma.com/design/yRewu4Y5nuWCa8aMM3DFw3/Agile--Sprints-and-Backlogs?node-id=3488-21030 |
| Accessibility | No |

## People

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Assignee |  |
| Accountable |  |
| Product manager |  |
| Developers | Ivan Kuchin |
| Designer | Parimal Satyal |
| Ordered by |  |
| Signed off by |  |
| Interest by |  |

## Estimates and progress

| Attribute | Value |
| --- | --- |
| PD (min) |  |
| PD (max) |  |
| Work |  |
| Labor costs |  |

## Description

**As** a product owner  
**I want to** group work packages into backlog buckets and prioritize them against each other  
**so that** backlog refinement is possible even with a large set of work packages

**Acceptance criteria**

  - Backlog buckets are lists of work packages.
    
      - They have a user provided name.

  - The "Backlog and sprints" view shows backlog buckets.
    
      - The name and the number of work packages within the bucket are displayed.

  - Users can sort the items in a backlog bucket via drag & drop and via menu entries.

  - A work package can
    
      - only be in a single backlog bucket at a time.
    
      - cannot be in a backlog bucket and a sprint at the same time.
    
      - cannot be in a backlog bucket and the "inbox" backlog bucket at the same time

  - Users can move a work package into a backlog via a menu entry in
    
      - Sprints
    
      - "Inbox" backlog bucket
    
      - Another backlog bucket

  - The backlog buckets are ordered by name (asc). The "Inbox" backlog is always displayed at the bottom.

  - A backlog bucket can be created on the view via the "+ Backlog bucket" on the page.
    
      - Clicking on the button opens a modal in which the name can be inserted

  - Backlog buckets can be deleted via a menu entry in the bucket menu
    
      - All contained work packages are "moved" to the bottom of the "Inbox" backlog (<mention class="mention" data-id="74369" data-type="work_package" data-text="##74369">##74369</mention>)

  - Buckets can be renamed via a menu entry in the bucket menu
    
      - A modal opens in which the user inserts the new name.

  - Buckets are only present within the project in which they were created. There is no sharing of them.

  - ~~Optional for 17.4., only if time allows: Show if wp was added to / removed from backlog bucket within the activity log. Backlog buckets functionality can be released without this feature though.~~ 

**Technical notes**

  - Since this is a larger topic that could potentially be split into smaller chunks, it probably makes sense to develop it behind a feature flag.

**Permissions and visibility considerations**

  - Creation/Deletion of buckets requires the `create_sprints` permission

  - Moving a work package into/out of a bucket requires the `manage_sprint_items` permission

**Translation considerations**

  - *Key terms and phrases in the key languages*

**Out of scope**

  - The backlog bucket a work package is in, is not visible on the work package itself. To be changed in <mention class="mention" data-id="73887" data-type="work_package" data-text="##73887">\#\#73887</mention>

  - The backlog property is for now not part of the work packages API. There is also no other API for the buckets for now. To be changed in <mention class="mention" data-id="73887" data-type="work_package" data-text="##73887">\#\#73887</mention>

  - For now, all backlogs are always displayed. This should later on be replaced by a (multi-)select by which the user can toggle the visibility of the backlog buckets.

  - Creation of work packages inside a backlog bucket is not yet possible (subject to change)

  - Manual sorting of buckets will be covered within another ticket
